funded by

sponsored by Ecologic.eu

2018 Arctic Summer College

We are happy to announce that applications for the 2018 Arctic Summer College are now being accepted until June 17, 2018.

The structure and content of this year's Arctic Summer College emphasize the diversity of disciplines and collaborative nature necessary to understand and address the issues that will shape the future of the Arctic. The sessions are divided into four thematic, two-week modules during which leading scholars, researchers, and practitioners from across the globe share insights and experiences from their current work redefining the way the world works with and within the Arctic. In addition, each module ends with a group presentation by this year's Arctic Summer College fellows. More information about the presentations and the selection of working groups will be available at the introductory administrative session on Monday, July 2 at 18:00 CEST / 12:00 EDT / 8:00 AKDT. 

Arctic Summer College sessions are hosted live online Wednesdays from July 11 - August 29 at 18:00 CEST / 12:00 EDT / 8:00 AKDT. (The introductory session takes place on Monday due to a US holiday.) A closing session will be scheduled for the beginning of September. 

The four thematic modules and their associated scheduled dates are as follows:

  • environmental sciences - July 11 and 18
  • energy and resources - July 25 and August 1
  • international governance - August 8 and 15
  • social sciences - August 22 and 29

Applicants are asked to state their module preferences for the group presentation on the application form. This year's participant fees are tiered and based on a participant's ability to pay. The standard rate is USD 300; the social rate is USD 200.

You can find the application form here. We look forward to your application and another great year of Arctic Summer College. 

If you have any questions regarding the program or the application, feel free to contact us at application@arcticsummercollege.org.